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MANAGEMENT MEMO
NUMBER: 

24-03

SUBJECT: 

Government Claim Fee Reduction and Fee Waiver

EFFECTIVE DATE: 

NOVEMBER 4, 2024 

ISSUING AGENCY: 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

EXPIRES: 

11-04-2025
SUPERSEDES: 

N/A 

Purpose 

The purpose of this Management Memo is to provide information relative to changes 
made by the legislature to the filing fee requirements for government claims. The 
changes will have little direct impact on state agencies; however, the Government 
Claims Program (GCP) is now required to accept reduced filing fees from claimants who 
meet certain financial criteria. 

Legal Authority 

Government Code section 905.2 
State Administrative Manual (SAM) section 8493 

Definitions 

Allow Notice: An official notice the GCP issues to the claimant and the liable state 
agency when it determines that a claim has merit and should be paid. It states the 
amount of the claim settlement, authorizes the liable state agency to issue payment 
under the authority of Government Code section 965, and contains information and 
warnings as required by applicable statutes. 

Claimant: A person or entity, who has filed a claim against a State of California 
governmental entity for money or damages. 

Incarcerated Person: Persons sentenced to imprisonment in a state prison or confined 
in a county jail, or who are residents in a state prison.  

Policy 

Claims against the State of California are filed with the Department of General Services, 
Office of Risk and Insurance Management (ORIM) as provided in Government Code 
section 905.2. The claim filing process is maintained in SAM section 8493. 

Effective January 1, 2024, subsection (c)(2)(A) was added to Government Code 
section 905.2, which provides a mechanism for claimants who make less than $100 
more than 125% of the current monthly federal poverty line, to pay reduced filing fees. 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=905.2.&lawCode=GOV
https://www.dgs.ca.gov/en/Resources/SAM/TOC/8400/8493
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The reduced filing fee is calculated as 25% of the difference between the claimant’s 
monthly income and 125% of the current monthly federal poverty line. 

Subsection (c)(2)(B) was also added, which allows a claimant, that is an incarcerated 
person in a correctional facility and has more than $100, but less than $200, in their  
Trust Account within 90 days prior to the date the claim is filed, to pay reduced filing 
fees. The reduced filing fee for incarcerated persons is calculated as 25% of the 
difference between $100 and the amount in their trust account. 

The GCP ORIM 005 – Fee Waiver or Fee Reduction Request form has been updated 
by ORIM to comply with the new legislative changes.  

Responsibilities 

State Agencies: 

Shall ensure the correct filing fee amount is reimbursed to the claimant, when a claim is 
allowed, by reconciling against the “Allow Notice” received from the GCP. 

ORIM – Government Claims Program: 

Issue “Allow Notice” to the claimant and the liable State Agency. The notice shall 
include the appropriate filing fee amount. 

Resources 

• ORIM Government Claims page

• GCP ORIM 006 – Government Claim form

• GCP ORIM 005 – Fee Waiver or Fee Reduction Request form

Contact Information 

Office of Risk and Insurance Management 
Government Claims Program 
Telephone: (916) 376-5302 
Email: gcinfo@dgs.ca.gov   

Approval 

____________________________ 
Ana M. Lasso, Director 
Department of General Services 

https://www.dgs.ca.gov/ORIM/Services/Page-Content/Office-of-Risk-and-Insurance-Management-Services-List-Folder/File-Government-Claim-for-eligible-compensation
https://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/dgs/fmc/dgs/orim006.pdf
http://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/dgs/fmc/dgs/orim005.pdf
mailto:gcinfo@dgs.ca.gov
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