

# TollPass Program Overview

# The TollPass program is offered in several ways, depending on where you rent:

- Transponder Regions: Northeast US, Oklahoma & Puerto Rico
- Toll by Plate Regions: California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, North Carolina, Texas, Washington, and Ontario Canada
- Transponder & Plate Options: Chicago Metropolitan Area
- Tolls & Fees billed in currency of rental location
- Many toll authorities have eliminated or plan to eliminate onsite payment options; drivers should verify payment options outside of the TollPass Program directly with the tolling authorities prior to driving on any toll roads, bridges, or tunnels

# Northeast US, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico

When renting in these areas our program is primarily offered via add-on or installed transponders. In the event of a transponder failure our drivers are covered via plate tolling without any additional/penalty fees.

#### TPD – Transponders Rented Over the Counter (Northeast & Oklahoma)

- Customers can request the TollPass Device (TPD) transponder when booking the reservation or ask for it at the rental counter or exit booth
- The TPD rental cost is \$4.95 per rental day + the cost of tolls. The maximum charge per rental period is \$24.75 + the cost of tolls
- The customer will be charged on their contract for the TPD rental fee of \$4.95/day (max \$24.75/rental period) and for their tolls separately using the same method of payment, usually within 10 15 days of returning the vehicle
- Customers should place the TPD transponder on the inside of the driver's side windshield

# **TPI – Installed Transponders (Northeast Only)**

- Some vehicles may have a transponder installed permanently on the windshield
- The TPI usage cost is \$4.95 per usage day + the cost of tolls. The maximum charge per rental period is \$24.75 + the cost of tolls
- The customer will be charged for the TPI usage along with the cost of tolls incurred after they return the vehicle, usually 10 15 days, separate from the other rental charges
- Customers choosing to use an installed transponder should follow directions on the device to flip it open and unshield the transponder

Customers who do not rent a TPD or activate a TPI, do not use their own device or account, do not stop & pay cash, or otherwise pay for a toll incurred during their rental will be auto opted into our TollPass program via video tolling.



# **Puerto Rico**

In Puerto Rico tolls are covered via a transponder sticker installed to all vehicles. Drivers may use our program by driving through marked AutoExpreso Lanes; there is no activation process for this transponder.

- Transponder stickers are assigned to vehicle registrations and CANNOT be moved between vehicles
- Applying an unauthorized transponder sticker including pre-loaded and personal account stickers to an EHI vehicle is a violation of the rental contract and will result in the customer being charged any penalties, fines, or other additional costs incurred correcting the transponder sticker on the windshield
- Tampering with the EHI AutoExpreso transponder sticker is a violation of the rental contract and could result in the driver being charged for all tolls, penalties, and/or fines charged to EHI due to damaged transponder issues
- The cost of TollPass in Puerto Rico is \$4.95 per usage day + the cost of tolls. The maximum charge per rental period is \$24.75 + the cost of tolls
- Customers will be charged usage fees & tolls after they return the vehicle, usually 10 15 days, separate from the other rental charges

# California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, North Carolina, Texas, Washington State, and Ontario, Canada

When renting in these regions, renters choose to use our TollPass service by simply driving on toll roads, tunnels, and bridges in these covered areas.

#### Here's how it works:

- These regions utilize a video tolling system; all customers in a tolling environment should receive a TollPass brochure, providing additional information about the service
- Customers who drive through designated toll lanes in the coverage area are automatically enrolled in our TCC Program
  - o Customers driving on the 73, 133, 241, 261 in Southern California who do not want to be automatically opted in to our TCC program may have the option to pre-register their rental vehicle with TCA; please visit thetollroads.com/RentalTolls for more information
  - o Customers driving on the Golden Gate Bridge in Northern California who do not want to be automatically opted into to our TCC program have the option to pay for their toll before or within 48 hours after crossing the Golden Gate Bridge southbound into San Francisco; please visit bayareafastrak.org for more information
- Some roads or toll stations in the coverage area are "electronic payment only" and our TollPass Service may be the only way to pay your toll; use of those roads or stations will automatically enroll a renter in our TCC Program
- Renters who use our TCC Program will be charged for the cost of all tolls plus a TollPass Convenience Charge (TCC) of \$4.95 \$5.35 for every usage day; the TCC will not exceed \$26.75 for the rental period
- The customer will be charged the TCC along with the cost of tolls incurred after they return the vehicle, usually 10 15 days, separate from the other rental charges
- To obtain receipts or additional information, please visit <u>www.tollpassgo.com</u> or call 1-877-765-5201

#### **Tolls Not Covered**

There are a few toll roads and bridges not covered by our program including roads in Montreal and South Carolina. Customers must pay for these tolls directly with the tolling agency. Tolls on EHI vehicles on these roads will be billed by the Citations Department along with a \$25 administrative fee to offset the fine issued to EHI by the tolling agency. A current listing of covered roads is available upon request, at <u>www.tollpassgo.com</u>

# FAQs

#### Am I required to use the TollPass service with my rental vehicle?

No, you may use your own tolling account, pay onsite or online where available, or any other options available from the tolling authority. Some locations may not have any options beyond pay-by-plate; to avoid being automatically enrolled into our TollPass program you will need to avoid those toll roads, tunnels, and bridges. Driver is responsible for confirming payment options and requirements prior to incurring tolls.

#### How are tolls billed to me?

All charges will be in the currency of the rental location. If you rent a car in Toronto and get tolls in Pennsylvania, you will be billed in \$CAD; if you rent in New York and get tolls in Ontario you will be billed in \$USD.

Tolls and other charges incurred during your rental period will be charged to the debit or credit card on file with your Rental Agreement once the toll data is received from the toll authority, usually within 10 - 15 days after returning the rental. Renters who don't have a credit or debit card on file will receive an invoice for all toll-related charges. Tolls incurred are billed at the higher of the applicable toll authority's video toll rate, cash toll rate or highest undiscounted toll rate.

#### How can I obtain my charges for these services?

Go to <u>www.tollpassgo.com</u> or call (877) 765-5201. You may also sign up to receive automatic receipts by visiting www.htallc.com, clicking Receipts, selecting your rental car agency and entering the name as it appears on your rental contact and contract number or partial credit card number used to pay for your rental.

#### **Chicago Metropolitan Area**

When renting in the Chicago Metropolitan Area there are two options:

- TPS Toll Pass Service all drivers except those going to Indiana
  - Priced per rental day with no max
  - Includes toll charges; no additional billing
  - Pay-by-Plate no transponder required
- TPW Toll Pass Waiver drivers who will be in Indiana [barriered tolling]
  - Priced per rental day with no max
  - Includes toll charges; no additional billing
  - o Transponder Required

With either product drivers can bypass payment lanes and drive through designated I-PASS Express Lanes. Most toll roads have eliminated onsite cash payments but online payment options may exist. Drivers should check with the local authority to confirm options before driving on toll roads. Any unpaid tolls, generated by renters who did not opt for our toll products, are handled by our Customer Service Center for Citations. In these cases, there may also be a \$25 administrative fee associated with the tolls. The Customer Service Center for Citations can be reached Monday through Friday, 8 AM - 5 PM CST at 800-935-0112.